County Comprehensive Plan Last Public Meeting (11/21/2019)

 
 
All
 
We have attached the most current/recent draft of Seneca Counties new comprehensive 20 year plan for your review. We have not reviewed it in full detail but the points below are of interest: 

  • Page 15 – 4.6 “Green Energy – Promote renewable and alternative energy systems.
  • Page 19 – “Objective 4.6 Green Energy: Promote renewable and alternative energy systems”
  • Page 39 of the PDF – “Objective 4.6 Promote GREEN ECONOMIC ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT”
    • 4.6.1 “Energy Hub – Support the county as a hub of renewable energy.”
  • Page 41 of the PDF – “Objective 5.4 Increase Use of Existing Hubs”
    • 5.4.3 “Airport – Use the airport as an economic opportunity”
  • Page 49 of the PDF – 
    • 2.3.1 Rural Identity – Preserve riparian corridors, floodplains, and other ecologically sensitive as important parts of Seneca County’s rural identity.
    • 2.3.2 Partnerships – Consider additional programming, and possibly partnerships with organizations like the OSU Extension Office/4-H Clubs, local Future Farmers of America (FFA) chapters, and other similar organizations to educate Seneca County youth about the land’s rich history, its current state, and its future potential.
    • 2.3.3 Historic Properties – Celebrate Seneca County’s and the Park District’s history by preserving the places that are central to its identity, both in the built and natural environments. Inventory historically significant places, those within the Parks and those outside them, and work with other organizations to maintain them.
    • Objective 2.5 LAND USE – Maintain a balance of rural and city/village and natural environments.
    • 2.5.1 Prevent Insensitive Sprawl – Work with County and Township officials to minimize the intrusion of sporadic residential development into rural areas. In areas where sensitive ecological areas are adjacent to existing communities, work with Village and City officials to find mutually beneficial solutions to growth.
  • Page 52
    • Objective 4.6 Promote GREEN DEVELOPMENT
      4.6.1 Alternative Energy – Advocate for and encourage development of alternative energy resources for use at park facilities as well as locations in the County.
Here is what  we have learned with regard to the process and current status of the County’s new comprehensive plan
 
Here is the Process that remains for the finalizing of the new 20 year plan:
  • Last public meeting – Tonight at the Fostoria Learning Center (342 Perry St, Fostoria) from 5p-7p – TRY TO ATTEND IF YOU CAN**
  • The consultant (CT Consultants) compiles public comments from these two meetings
  • Conference call(s) between consultant and the plan’s steering committee 
    • Steering Committee:
      • Commissioner Mike Kerschner – Email:
      • Commissioner Tony Paradiso – Email: aparadiso@senecacountyohio.gov
      • Commissioner Shayne Thomas – Email:
      • Tiffin Mayor Aaron Montz – Email:
      • Fostoria Mayor Eric Keckler – Email: 
      • David Zak, Tiffin-Seneca Economic Partnership (TSEP formerly known as SIEDC) – Email: 
      • Renee Smith, Fostoria Economic Development Corp. – Email:
      • Sarah Betts, Seneca County Park District – Email: 
      • Township Trustees
  • Consultant presents new draft to committee for review in December 2019
  • Steering committee review
  • Final Draft Jan/Feb 2020
  • Approval phase
    • Needs to be approved by
      • Seneca Regional Planning Commission Board
        • Tim Reinhart, (Board President) Jackson Township Trustee – Email: treinhart@jacksontwp-seneca.com
        • Jason Painter, (Board Vice President) Louden Township Trustee – Email: jptrustee@bright.net
        • Mayor Aaron Montz, City of Tiffin, Ohio (Board Secretary) – Email: Mayor@tiffinohio.gov
        • Barbara Dibble, City of Fostoria – Sr. Assistant Prosecutor –  Email: badibble@embarqmail.com
        • Anthony Paradiso, Seneca County Commissioner – Email: aparadiso@senecacountyohio.gov
        • Paul Eickhoff – Email: ferdpe@bright.net 
        • Councilman Tyler Shuff City of Tiffin, Ohio – Email: tshuff@tiffinohio.gov
        • Mayor Jeff Larick of the Village of Republic – Email: ljlarick@woh.rr.com
        • Commissioner Michael Kerschner – Email: mkerschner@senecacountyohio.gov
        • Mayor Eric Keckler, City of Fostoria, Ohio – Email: mayorkeckler@yahoo.com 
        • Eden Township Trustee-Vern Morter – Email: vernmorter29@gmail.com
        • Commissioner Shayne Thomas – Email: sthomas@senecacountyohio.gov
        • Scipio Township Trustee – Rod Miller – Email: ramcmiller5@frontier.com
      • Seneca County Commissioners
        • Shayne Thomas
        • Tony Paradiso
        • Mike Kerschner
      • City of Tiffin – Mayor Aaron Montz, City of Tiffin – Email: Mayor@tiffinohio.gov
        • Council
          • Daniel Perry-4th Ward – Email: dperry@tiffinohio.gov
          • Dawn Iannantuono – 3rd Ward – E-mail: diannantuono@tiffinohio.gov
          • Joe Hartzell – 2nd Ward – E-mail: jhartzell@tiffinohio.gov
          • Bridget Boyle-1st Ward – Email: bboyle@tiffinohio.gov
          • Ben Gillig – At Large – E-mail: bgillig@tiffinohio.gov
          • Tyler Shuff – At Large – E-mail: tshuff@tiffinohio.gov
          • Steve Lepard – At Large – E-mail: slepard@tiffinohio.gov
          • Rich Focht-4th-R-2019-Council President – Email: rfocht@tiffinohio.gov 
      • City of Fostoria
        • Mayor Eric Keckler, City of Fostoria, Ohio – Email: mayorkeckler@yahoo.com 
        • Council
          • President – Steve Kauffman – Email: councilkauffman@gmail.com
          • Ward 1 – Paula Dilion – Email: pdillon@woh.rr.com
          • Ward 2 – John Schuld – No information
          • Ward 3 – Mike Hopple – Email: Fostoriaward3@yahoo.com 
          • Ward 4 – Thomas Lake – Email: TLake10244@aol.com
          • At Large – Brian Shaver – Email:  ​fostoriacouncilmanshaver@gmail.com
          • At Large – Greg Cassidy – Email: GCassidy@FTLCO.com
          • At Large – Edward Logsdon – Email: logsdon.edward@gmail.com
      • County Park District
        • Director – Sarah Betts – Email: sbetts@senecacountyparks.com
        • Board
          • Lori Hall
          • Carl Miller
          • Lee Martin
          • Roland Zimmerman
          • Bill McAllister
  • The plan is unveiled in Feb/March of 2020
Thank You
 
SAWU

Iberdrola, EverPower, NextEra, Apex, Swift Energy…they are all talking to your Representatives…Are You?