WOW! Please call and write a thank you to these legislators

[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”61″ display=”basic_slideshow” transition_speed=”400″ show_thumbnail_link=”0″]
Very exciting news!!

The story below appeared in the Tiffin-Advertiser Tribune newspaper.  The bills introduced are very similar to the Reineke Referendum which was included with this summer’s legislative fight over HB 6.  The current version, introduced yesterday, includes one provision lacking from the previous legislation, and that relates to set-backs.  The bills introduced yesterday would increase the set-backs for wind projects to the distance recommended by the turbine manufacturer. 

It took less than two hours for the opposition to start. A group calling themselves the Ohio Conservative Energy Forum put out a news release less than two hours after the bills were introduced repeating the wind energy talking points regarding local voting and set-backs.

Everyone needs to remember that yesterday’s action just starts the process again.  There are going to be hearings on the bill in various committees in the House and Senate, and we will attempt to keep you up-to-date on the status of the bills as they move through the legislative process.  We may be asking for shows of support in Columbus.  Some of you may be called upon to provide testimony in front of the committees.  We may be calling on all of you to write letters or make phone calls to legislators in support of HB401 and SB 234.

Here are the co-sponsors of HB401: Chief sponsor is Bill Reineke (R-Tiffin).  Co-Sponsors of the bill are Rep. Jon Cross (R-Kenton), Rep. Stephen Hambley (R-Brunswick), Rep. Don Jones (R-Freeport), Rep. George Lang (R-West Chester Twp.), Rep. P. Scott Lipps (R-Franklin), Rep. Rick Perales (R-Beavercreek), Rep.  Tracey Richardson (R-Marysville), Rep. Craig Riedel (R-Defiance), Rep. William Seitz (R-Green Twp.), Rep. Todd Smith (R-Germantown), Rep. Dick Stein (R-Norwalk), Rep. D.J. Swearingen (R-Huron).

Here are the co-sponsors of SB234: :  Chief sponsor is Sen. Rob McColley (R-Napoleon).  The Co-sponsors of the Senate Bill are Sen. Andrew Brenner (R-Powell), Sen. Dave Burke (R-Marysville), Sen. Bill Coley (R-Butler County), Sen.. Frank Hoagland (R-Mingo Junction), Sen. Matt Huffman (R-Lima), Sen. Stephen Huffman (R-Tipp City), Sen. Nathan Manning (R-North Ridgeville) and Sen. Michael Rulli (R-Salem).  

A brief “thank-you” directed to these individuals is worth considering.